SERVIER Award in Microcirculation: the winners are Claudia Nussbaum and Sarah Bannenberg


The SERVIER Award in Microcirculation is presented every 2 years for an outstanding clinical or basic research publication in the fields of microcirculation and vascular biology. The call for applications is advertised on the ESM website and by related societies and journals.

For the fifth time, the SERVIER Award in Microcirculation was a great success, as reflected by the high scientific level of the 14 applicants. The jury designated as the 2015 winners Claudia Nussbaum from Munich (Germany) and Sarah Bannenberg from Essen (Germany), for their paper entitled “Sphingosine-1-phosphate receptor 3 promotes leukocyte rolling by mobilizing endothelial P-selectin,” published in Nature Communications.

This award, which consists of a grant of €4000, was presented to the two winners at the ESM Congress in Pisa on June 5,2015.

For the next award, applications should be submitted no later than December 31, 2016, and will be reviewed by a scientific committee including officers of the ESM. Scientists under 40 years of age on January 31 in the year of the award may apply.

Servier, founded in 1954, is the leading French independent pharmaceutical company. We are present in 140 countries, with more than 21 000 employees, including close to 3000 in R&D.